Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Lovin' Ain't Easy - 10 Complicated YA Romances

Since Valentine's Day is right around the corner, I thought I would share some of my favorite young adult love stories. I maybe a grown up, but I love a good young adult novel. I think with YA the emotions are just so visceral and love is so all consuming.  Its fun to read YA and instantly be transported back to your own high school days.  Love is complicated and these novels do a fantastic job of portraying that.  I absolutely adore all these books.  Some are a bit silly and others may require an extra large box of tissues to read.  At their core, these books are all just beautiful love stories, even if all the characters do not end up together in the end. (Sorry spoiler)

1.
*I have never swooned so hard over a character in my life, as I did for Etienne St. Clair.

 Summary (via Goodreads)
Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris--until she meets √Čtienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, √Čtienne has it all...including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

  
2.
*These two former best friends are adorable and love to make out.

Summary (Via Goodreads)
Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her "power" to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes that the dead leave behind in the world... and the imprints that attach to their killers.

Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find the dead birds her cat had tired of playing with. But now that a serial killer has begun terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he's claimed haunt her daily, she realizes she might be the only person who can stop him.

Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet on her quest to find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved to find herself hoping that Jay's intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she's falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer... and becoming his prey herself


3.
*This book reads like a whacky John Hughes Film. Think Sixteen Candles mixed with Ferris Bueller's Day Off.  Its so much fun! You are constantly rooting for the couple to just finally get together already, despite all the zany obstacles that get in their way.

Summary (via Goodreads)
There's a girl.
Justina Griffith was never the girl who dreamed of going to prom. Designer dresses and strappy heels? Not her thing. That said, she never expected her best friend, Ian Clark, to ask her.

And there's a boy.
Ian, who always passed her the baseball bat, handle first.
Ian, who knew exactly when she needed red licorice.
Ian, who promised her the most amazing night at prom.

Then there's a ditch.
But when Justina is ditched, figuratively and literally, she must piece together--stain-by-stain on her thrift store dress--exactly how she ended up dateless...with only the help of some opinionated ladies at the 7-Eleven.

To get the whole store, Justina will have to face the boy who ditched her. Can losing out at her prom ultimately lead to finding true love?


4.
*The movie is almost as good as the book.  Get your tissue boxes ready. Adam would have been the man of my dreams in High School.  This book's sequel Where She Went is even better.  Again TISSUES!!

Summary (via Goodreads)
Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.


Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it's the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.


5.
*This book reminded me so much of my high school experience. Going to shows in basements and bars was the best. Living life for music! Driving around late at night with the stereo too loud and with no where in particular to go. Those were the days and I loved this book.

Summary (via Goodreads)
It all starts when Nick asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. He only needs five minutes to avoid his ex-girlfriend, who’s just walked in to his band’s show. With a new guy. And then, with one kiss, Nick and Norah are off on an adventure set against the backdrop of New York City—and smack in the middle of all the joy, anxiety, confusion, and excitement of a first date.
  
6.
*Hadley meets an adorably snarky British boy Oliver at the airport on her way to London. 
I'm SOLD! Adored it!

Summary (via Goodreads)
Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father's second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. Oliver is British, sits in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?

7.
 *Sometimes I love a break up story just as much as a love story.  Sometimes you need a good heartbreak.

Summary (via Goodreads)
 I'm telling you why we broke up, Ed. I'm writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.


8.
*This series is just so funny and the love interest Lend is just so cute, even if he is a shape-shifter.

Summary (via Goodreads)
Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.


9.

*A story so complicated. Definitely have the tissues ready.

Summary (via Goodreads)
 Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.
This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

10.
 *Summer love. You can't beat it.

Summary (via Goodreads) 
It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming beach town where they live.

A job in a clothes boutique introduces Auden to the world of girls: their talk, their friendship, their crushes. She missed out on all that, too busy being the perfect daughter to her demanding mother. Then she meets Eli, an intriguing loner and a fellow insomniac who becomes her guide to the nocturnal world of the town. Together they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she’s been denied; for Eli, to come to terms with the guilt he feels for the death of a friend.

In her signature pitch-perfect style, Sarah Dessen explores the hearts of two lonely people learning to connect.



Bonus:
**I almost forgot about this one.  Its absolutely one of my favorite series of all time.  I hate werewolves and vampires, but this series did werewolves in such a unique way that I absolutely fell in love.  I loved Sam but I would probably want to date Cole.  Or at least my High School Self would have been all about Cole. The boy was just so troubled. Luckily I grew out my troubled musician faze.


Summary (via Goodreads)
For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can't seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It's her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.



~megan

5 comments:

  1. I just want to read Anna & the French Kiss so I can swoon over Etienne too. Hehe.


    :] // ▲ itsCarmen.com ▲

    ReplyDelete
  2. Believe me you will swoon! Thanks Carmen for visiting this little ol' blog. Loved your post about wallflowers. I may have to buy one. -megan

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi! we recently found your blog and nominated it for the Liebster Award. Here is our post: http://louieandcoco.blogspot.com.ar/2015/02/liebster-award-love.html
    Have a nice day

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Why Thank you! What a nice and fun thing for you to do. I will write a post about it next week. Again thank you! I am loving your blog as well. -megan

      Delete